The town, which stretches along the valley of the River Bódva, evolved through the joining of three villages: Borsod, which was annexed to Edelény in 1950, and Finke in 1936.
Its natural, historical and cultural assets, with the proximity of theAggtelek Karst Region, adds to this town's attractiveness. The L'Huillier-Coburg Palace in Edelény is one of Hungary's largest Baroque structures.
In 1725 Francois L'Huillier, originally from France and the captain of Eger Castle, bought Edelény with the king's consent. He then had his 106-room palace built, which remains one of Hungary's largest and most significant Baroque residences. In the early-19th century the estate became the property of the Coburg family, who established one of the first sugar refining factories in Hungary in the settlement in 1838.
In Edelény, the building of the Borsod Regional Peasant House Museum, including an interior in the style of the period between the two World Wars, safeguards the remnants of vernacular architecture. The impressive heritage complex also holds a display of archaelogical finds from the excavation of the Borsod Earthen redoubt and documents on the history of Borsod County.